Rhyme&Re-Review: How could I have missed B.o.B?

20 11 2009


Everyone makes mistakes. Napoleon had Russia, George Bush had Katrina, Chris Webber had timeouts — it happens to everyone. My mistake? Ignoring B.o.B. I have to admit, I did it partially because I was lazy, partially because I can’t comb through every artist I read about and partially because I’m not much of a fan of his name. B.o.B? Eh, not doing it for me.

But that was wrong of me. Very wrong. This mixtape dropped in June, and I heard if for the first time in November. That is painful.

For everyone looking for the closest thing to Andre 3000 of the next generation, I think it’s going to be B.o.B. He sings, he raps, his music is eclectic and diverse and he’s even from Atlanta. I’ve only heard his most recent mixtape B.o.B vs. Bobby Ray, but that’s good enough for me. It’s up there with KiD CuDi‘s Dat Kid from Cleveland, Drake‘s So Far Gone, and Weezy‘s The Carter 3 Sessions with The Empire when it comes to quality.

Between “Satellite”, “No Mans Land”, “Trippin'”, “One”, “I am the Man” and “I’m That Nigga”, B.o.B gives you a full cross section of the sounds that can be found in hip-hop today. I’ll forgive him for making a song with two of the world’s worst rappers — Asher Roth and Charles Hamilton — but B.o.b, don’t make that a habit. Both of those dudes are Wack Arnolds.

What I’m most excited for though is that we’re going to get his first album in April, which means within one year we will have gotten debut albums from B.o.B, KiD CuDi, Drake, and Wale. Has hip-hop turned a corner with these guys at the helm? Discuss.

Anyway, the torrent can be found here. Please go forth and listen to the album, you won’t be disappointed.

B.o.B – B.o.B vs. Bobby Ray

1. B.o.B Intro – N/A
2. Patron and Swag Freestyle – N/A
3. One (feat. Big Kuntry & Mac Phoney) – ★★★
4. My Sweet Baby – ★★★
5. Change Gonna Come (feat. Asher Roth & Charles Hamilton) – ★★★
6. Do You Have the Stamina (feat. Kanye West) – ★★★
7. I am the Man (feat. OJ Da Juiceman & Bun B) – ★★★
8. Say What You Want (feat. Playboy Tre & Killer Mike)
9. Voltage (feat. Playboy Tre & Mickey Factz)
10. I’m That Nigga (feat. T.I.) – ★★★
11. Fly Like Me – ★★★
12. Bobby Ray Intermission – N/A
13. Satellite – ★★★★★
14. Wonderland – ★★★
15. Mr. Bobby – ★★★
16. Trippin’ – ★★★★
17. Goodnite
18. Camera
19. No Mans Land – ★★★
20. Put Me On – ★★★
21. Already There – ★★★
22. B.o.B and Bobby Ray Outro – N/A

B.o.B vs. Bobby Ray Total ★: 45
B.o.B vs. Bobby Ray ★ Ratio: 2.50

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

